Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default Don't like training abs?

So, I've been toying with the Pavel Ladder technique of performing a maximum number of reps over time without ever reaching failure. Here's a thread on the subject. At the same time, I have really let my core strength training go, and my back is reminding me of it daily. I don't really like core strength exercises, especially when I'm sucking at them, like right now.

So, here's what I tried. I used the Pavel Ladder technique, but instead of letting my partner finish his set (I work out alone, so that's a tough one), I did a quick set of core exercises between them. Honestly, it was a great workout. This is my first time doing it, so I can't really speak of any results, but I'm just throwing it out there as an idea for people.

Step 1: establish a goal number of reps to do. In my case, I was performing pullups and dips. My goal was to do 15 pullups and 75 dips (I know, I've let myself go) over 10 sets. For a one set max, I can do 5 pullups and 15 dips. Remember, you can't do too much early on, or you won't be able to complete the total number of reps.

Step 2: Establish four or five different exercises for core strength, and a number of reps for each exercise. For example, crunchesx30, bicyclesx15, etc.

Step 3: Keep moving between sets, and you'll keep your heart rate up and still be able to get all of your reps.

Here's what this looked like for me:

Pullups set 1
    Abs exercise 1
    Dips set 1
    Abs exercise 2
    Pullups set 2
    Abs exercise 3
    Dips set 2
    Abs exercise 4
    Pullups set 3
    Abs exercise 1
    Dips set 3
    Abs exercise 2
    Pullups set 4
    Abs exercise 3
    Dips set 4
    Abs exercise 4
    Pullups set 5
    Abs exercise 1
    Dips set 5
    Abs exercise 2
    Pullups set 6
    Abs exercise 3
    Dips set 6
    Abs exercise 4
    Pullups set 7
    Abs exercise 1
    Dips set 7
    Abs exercise 2