Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: To Much?

Forum Member

Default To Much?

We are a small department with 30 volunteers. We average around a dozen calls a year. We cover roughly 65 square miles with a population of 1100.

In this years grant I am asking for 100% new turnout gear. All of ours is 10 to 15 years old. 12 SCBA's to add to our inventory of 7 (five of which is 15-20 years old), each with one spare tank. 17 portable radios (one for each truck seating position) to add to our current inventory of 2. Four new mobile radios to replace four old regency mobiles, and one simplex repeater system for use with our pager system.

All total the Federal Share will be $119,798.00

This is my first year of wrighting this grant. From your experiance, is this to much or about normal. We have never received an AFG before.

Thanks

FH Mag/.com Contributor

General comment: there's no such thing as too much money if it's a needed project and it is a high priority according to AFG documentation.

Specific comment: $120K/12 calls = $10K per call for several projects involving different equipment. Not a formula used by DHS, but just a different perspective from the outside looking in. (For those with truck requests, this view doesn't matter since a truck is 1 item.) In the PowerPoint, it's explained that one of the award killers for an application is attempting to solve all of your problems at once instead of taking the top 1-2 projects.

If you want a narrative review, contact Helping Our Own, both Mark and Cleo Warnick (founders) review applications, among other people within the organization. They can't get as specific as they'd like, both were/are peer reviewers, but they can give plenty of helpful advice about what may work or not work.

Forum Member

Default Another general comment