Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Righting inverted car with Pt. inside (calling all recovery/tow Guru's)

O.K. folks. This ought to be a good one. I'm mostly posting this for general discussion but I do have a question at the end for the Rigging & Recovery Guru's.

Background info. I am a contract firefighter to International Speedway Corporation (www.iscmotorsports.com) at Martinsville Speedway and subsequently I work for NASCAR 4 to 6 days a year.

Anyhow - I just had our NASCAR mandated pre-event training (which was all table top discussion & power point stuff) last night and one of the things we covered is NASCAR's new "official" procedure for extricating a driver trapped in an inverted vehicle.

Their procedure consist of rigging 2 tow straps to the vehicle and using a wrecker to "roll" the car back onto it's wheels. For those like myself who are NOT very knowledgeable about wreckers - the gist of it is you have a dual boom / dual winch wrecker and with one side you roll the inverted car onto it's side (and into the other cable) then the second cable lowers the car back down onto it's wheels.

The video showed a crew in training who had never done this before and they even put a (supervised) FF at the controls of the wrecker who had never run a wrecker before in his life. They were able to completely rig & right the vehicle quite smoothly in roughly 3 minutes.

Now I'm not advocating this for the average family car but because of the vast amount of protective gear the drivers have - it limits the amount of movement w/in the vehicle.

This procedure was developed at the NASCAR test lab with the approval & input of all the different Doc's who study this stuff.