St Petersburg Times

Working
A day on the job
PAUL KOLCUN: 51, Firefighter, Station No. 7, 6975 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. St. N, St. Petersburg
By ELLEN MOSES
Published March 30, 2005

How long have you worked as a firefighter?

31 years, all with St. Pete. I was at Station 3 on the south side for 25 years. I've been out here about 51/2 years.

Is this your full-time job?

Yes. I quit working a part-time job. I worked as a fire mechanic at Seminole Fire Department for about eight years and for other fire agencies as a mechanic, but I gave that up. Now I have a little farm out in Plant City and that's where I devote all my time on my days off.

What is your work schedule like?

Our schedule is 24 hours on, and then we're off 48 hours. So we start at 8 in the morning and leave at 8 the next morning. We used to work a 56-hour workweek, but now we work a 52-hour workweek.

How did you get interested in being a firefighter?

I always wanted to do it, ever since I was a kid. But I went to school to learn to be a jet engine mechanic up in Pittsburgh. I was sitting in class one day and there was a fire station across the street from the building we were in and they got a call, and they went out with all the sirens going. I got up in the middle of class and walked out and (decided) then to pursue being a firefighter.

How does your workday start?

We come in at 8 o'clock in the morning when our shift starts and every station will have a roll call. The officer will sit down with the crew and they'll go over any new memos or policy changes, they'll give you your assignments, what truck you're on, and what your duties will be for the day.

Does everybody chip in to keep the station clean?

While the drivers are out cleaning their trucks, the rest of the crew is inside cleaning the station, doing typical housework. Cleaning bathrooms, scrubbing the floors, mopping, emptying the trash. I cook here, so I have to plan my menu.

Is it hard to plan a menu between fire calls?