Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Teaching

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Teaching

Hi. Have not been on the forums in a while. I am a firefighter/paramedic in the North Texas area, & have recently obtained my certs to teach both fire & EMS. I would like to start teaching, but am not certain how to get started. My department is small, & has limited opportunities for teaching/training. I would like to start teaching at the college/academy level, but have searched online for those in the area that teach fire & EMS, & none are posting that they are looking for instructors. If anyone out there has been in my shoes, I would greatly appreciate any advice on how to get my foot in the door. Thanks very much.

FireResQ210,

Good luck with your teaching career you will get no better satisfaction that teaching others. I do not know your teaching background but if there are not any college/academy level positions in your area how about visiting departments in your area and offering to teach them some classes at a very nominal fee (they are strapped for training dollers also) getting your name out there as a quality instructor is the big thing you need to do. (Again I do not know your background so you may already have your name out there as a good instructor). Is this something you want to do full time or part time to earn a few extra dollers? What level Instructor Cert. do you have from the Texas Fire Commission and TDH? Good luck and Congrats.
    A "Good" fire is not measured by how big it is, but by the fact that everyone is going home safe, and that we possibly learned something new about firefighting. Member:IACOJ

MembersZone Subscriber

Thanks for the advice. Am at intermediate level on fire, instructor really has only one level here. Have to get additional EMS certs to add to it (ACLS instructor, etc.) Getting my CPR instructor later this month, so will be able to add that to the list.