MembersZone Subscriber

Default Rookie To The Forums

Hey guys, I am new to writing in the Forums but I read them all the time. You guys are full of info. I am a 24 year old Volunteer Firefighter in the Houston area. I have been Firefighter for about a year and a half and it is the most fun I have ever had. There is only one problem. I dont have a weak stomach and I can handle pretty much anything. The only thing that I have a problem with is the sight of a patient vomiting. For some reason my stomach can not handle that. I know that there is something that can be done for this. I wouls appreciate any help that I can get.

Forum Member

I don't have any EMT training or experience myself, but some of my buddies who are EMTs and have alot of experience say that the way to beat that is to put some of that Vic's chest rub right under your nose to overpower the smell of the vomit.

You might try it even if you are bothered by the sight of someone vomiting. Sometimes taking away one sense is enough to take care of the problem.

Like I said, I have no personal experience with this...but its something to try.

Good luck, stay safe.
    "We ride and never worry about the fall, I guess that's just the cowboy in us all" - George Strait

MembersZone Subscriber
    Wren, MS Until the forum gremlins pay a visit!

Welcome to the forums! As for the weak stomach thing, I'm afraid I don't have an answer. Not much bothers me. The only time I've ever felt sick was at a particularly upsetting call in which I couldn't do anything for the young lady..... That on was just too much.

Good luck in all your endeavors!
    Chief
    Wren Volunteer Fire Department
    IACOJ
    Southern Division

http://www.wrenfiredepartment.4t.com/

In Memory of:
    FireFighter/Pilot James Archer
    1946-2005
    "Rest in peace James, you now have the ultimate set of wings on you."

Thanks, LeuitEFDems

MembersZone Subscriber

THANKS FOR YOUR HELP GUYS. STAY SAFE.

District Chief