Thread: Am I dreaming??

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Am I dreaming??

I sell Municipal Bonds for a living in downtown NYC. I became a volunteer Fireman 3 years ago. I absolutely love it! I became an EMT and go to all in house schools and those offered by the local fire academy. Its all I think about. I may sound crazy but I want to walk away from Wall Street and would love to be a paid Firefighter/ EMT. One big problem is my age. I'm 41 but Iím in great shape and work out often. From the homework I have done so far, I donít have many options because there are not many states that will take someone my age. I'm trying to find out if I can get in the FDNY by starting as an EMT then somehow advancing through the back door.

I'm willing to relocate.

Does anyone have any advice??
    Last edited by RoughRider; 04-21-2005 at 04:28 PM.
    Fortune does not change men; it unmasks them.

The grass ain't greener, the wine ain't sweeter!! Either side of the hill.

IACOJ PROUD

Forum Member

Default back door

I don't believe you can get into the FDNY at your age. 29 is the upper limit with some flexibility for military time. Many suburban departments will hire people at your age. Also look into Phoenix. They have no age cap for their recruit class. A couple of years ago they hired a 47 year old. So don't give up hope, there are plenty of places that will hire you but you may have to become a Paramedic first. Good luck and don't let anyone get in the way of your dream.

MembersZone Subscriber

I don't think there is a back way in to most of those larger metropolitan departments out East like FDNY and BFD via the EMS route. Some other departments also have a residency requirement at time of application.

The age cap though seems to be a East Coast thing mainly. If you are serious about the dream; consider moving West. I can think of maybe only one department that had something similar to an age limit out west.