Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Foam Question?

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Foam Question?

Is there anyone who can direct me to info or knows themselves about AFFF foam on class A fires. My co-workers say there are tremendous benefits on class A and car fires. I say there is not, however, a salesman showed them some dog and pony show using a piece of cardboard and spraying it with AFFF. Any help would be appreciated.

Forum Member

Cool foam

Don't really know if this will help but we have had dual foam systems, A&B in sperate tanks on our units for some time. The time has finally come to say NO to carrying two kinds of foam. The trouble is that if you accidentally mix foams there is a tendency for coagulation(the stuff turns to a gel)and won't properly dispense if at all. If you crank up the percentage on Class A foam it works just fine in lieu of Class B.

Im not a foam expert, but I dont belive that imformation to be accurate.

Each type of foam works in a different way. Class "A" breaks down the surface tension of the material which allows water to be more effective. Class "B" works to smother the fire.

While I can see how class "A" may work with certain class "B" materials, I dont think it would be effective for others. Take a fuel spill, with or without fire. You need the class "B" to smother the fire or to "coat" the spill to prevent ignition. If you applied class "A" , all you would do is spread the spill and do little, if anything, to prevent an ignition.

We have had multiple agent tanks for years, and will continue to do so. Each type of foam has its "place" and dropping one will only limit your options and capabilities.
    Fire Marshal/Safety Officer

IAAI-NFPA-IAFC/VCOS-Retired IAFF

"No his mind is not for rent, to any god or government"
    RUSH-Tom Sawyer

Success is when skill meets opportunity
    Failure is when fantasy meets reality

Forum Member