Forum Member

Default General FireFigher Questions From a Student

Hello Everybody,
    I Would like to start off by thanking all of you for your dedication and service to the communities you serve. I'm a college student in Washington and have recently been looking into firefighting after my education. Basically I'm interested in what daily life consists of? Your on duty 24 hours then 48 hours off something to that degree. What do you do in your free time at the station? Also how frequent are calls and what do the majority of calls consist of? What are the first steps in becoming a firefighter? Do you have to attend an academy or get certified in different areas? If anybody could shed light on my situation that would be most appreciated. Thanks

--David

Forum Member

Default Re: General FireFigher Questions From a Student

Originally posted by drot1969
    Hello Everybody,
    I Would like to start off by thanking all of you for your dedication and service to the communities you serve. I'm a college student in Washington and have recently been looking into firefighting after my education. Basically I'm interested in what daily life consists of? Your on duty 24 hours then 48 hours off something to that degree. What do you do in your free time at the station? Also how frequent are calls and what do the majority of calls consist of? What are the first steps in becoming a firefighter? Do you have to attend an academy or get certified in different areas? If anybody could shed light on my situation that would be most appreciated. Thanks

--David
    Your question is very hard to answer, as each fire department is different in the way they operate, call volume, etc.

You will get a lot of differing opinions, so here is mine based on my perspective.