MembersZone Subscriber

Angry When enough is enough

I would like to say that the good old boys system is alive and well in my fire department. Our current fire chief hhas only basic entry level training and has been a member exactly six years now. Our fire department elects the fire chief based on a popularity contest and the fire chief appoints all the officers.

I am totally upset with this maddness as the chief has appointed all his beer drinking and fishing buddies as officers. Our department is a paid on call department and the officers receive a steipend for holding these postions on top of the calls.

I currently have more training and exeperencie than the fire chief and the asst chiefs combined and when I make a suggestion about training or operations I am told to stick it up my a@@. I have been in the fire service for 17 years and I have a associate degree in fire science. I also instruct fire,EMS and rescue classes around the state and this is the way I am treated??

Recently our fire department had a huge celebration for our departments 40th anniversary. This event was coordinated by my wife,myself and another firefighter. We spent countless hours working on the plans and at the event.

Our idiot fire chief during the celebration got up and thanked all his officers and did'nt even mention the commitee or anyone else that worked that did all the planning.

I would love to see a fire commision formed by our community that would have the authority to hire and fire the fire chief and the officers. I think the days of have a elected fire chief is gone as you can see our fire department lacks any real leadership.

There have been serveal large calls where none of these so called officers were there. And these calls seem to run the smoothest as the senior qualified firefighters take command and call the shots. And the shots they call and make is based on knowledge not popularlity or if they are beer drinking fishing buddies.