Forum Member

Default Cell Phones and 911

The story:
    Today while working the medic unit, some of the engines were dispatched to a working structure fire. Caller stated that he saw smoke rising from the otherside of the tree line and thought he saw flames also.
    The sad thing about this is that it was definatly a working structure fire, but it was at the fire school. With the recruits putting it out. To train. Imagine the surprise they had when the engine rolled up ready to put it out.

This isn't the first time this has happened either. I can think of many occasions when an entire box was dropped for a structure fire, only to find out that it was a controlled BBQ, or reflection from the sun, etc.

I'm all for treating every call like it was real, but do y'all think that for cell phone calls the response should be limited, possibly making it only an investigation, not an entire response? I dunno, I'm still new to this...

dazed and confused

Default Re: Cell Phones and 911

Originally posted by thebigcheese
    but do y'all think that for cell phone calls the response should be limited, possibly making it only an investigation, not an entire response?
    Just because a caller is using a cell phone?

Absolutely not.

Now, if there is additional information that would justify a reduction in response (quantity or priority), then that is one thing. But that should come from interrogation of the caller, not just because they're calling from a cell phone.
    God Bless America! • Remember all have given some, but some have given all.
    Google Is Your Friend™ • Helpful forum tip - a "must see" if you're new here
    Click this to search FH Forums!

Forum Member

Wouldn't you rather a full response and have it be "nothing" than go with a lesser response and find "something" and be unprepared?
    To the world you might be one person, but to one person you just might be the world.

IACOJ-WOT proud

GO WHITE SOX!!!!!