Thread: Drivers Role?

Forum Member

Question Drivers Role?

I am interested in everybodyís input on a driverís role. I was recently promoted to an Engineer in December of 04. I have roughly 8 years experience and I am just interested in how everybody else works. I work as part of a 4-person company. My outlook is that if I am first in and pumping only 2 lines of smaller GPM (250 or less) then I am able to leave the pump panel and take on other tasks. Utilities, Ventilation etc. I have gotten into discussions with other pump operators who believe if you have even one line off the truck and someone on the end, then you need to be at the panel. Does it make a difference if you are driving a ladder instead of an engine? We have no written SOG pertaining to this and do not see one in the future.

IACOJ BOD

if you have even one line off the truck and someone on the end, then you need to be at the panel.
    Chuckles, you ever leave the damn panel when I am squirting water on a fire and I will chase my burned corpse through hell to kick the c@#P out of you.

Think about it.
    Psychiatrists state 1 in 4 people has a mental illness.
    Look at three of your friends, if they are ok, your it.

MembersZone Subscriber

Originally posted by FlyingKiwi

Chuckles, you ever leave the damn panel when I am squirting water on a fire and I will chase my burned corpse through hell to kick the c@#P out of you.

Think about it.
    ROFLMFAO!!!!!

"Chuckles", Hilarious!

And I agree with my Kiwi Colleague wholeheartedly!
    Never argue with an Idiot. They drag you down to their level, and then beat you with experience!

IACOJ

Forum Member

Why? If a water supply has been established, the pressure is set; the relief valve is set, why can't an operator help? An operator will know the sound if something goes wrong, and can carry a radio to monitor what is going on. I am not saying they leave and never return, but assist in outside duties within a reasonable distance to their truck.