MembersZone Subscriber

Talking International Fire Fighter

Hello everyone,
    Im a firefighter in Australia (originally Victoria but now South Australia) and was interested in the different terminology used in the various companies around the world. Was reading info about some but am now totally lost. Is anyone able to shed some light for me at all? While im at it is anyone interested in trading any fir shirts? Have started a collection of them and am willing to swap Victorian CFA shirts.

Regards to everyone, be safe when the bell tolls

Sean

Forum Member

I'll try... This is New England terminology

What you call a branch, we call a nozzle of the knob.
    What you call BA, we call SCBA, self contained breathing apparatus.

Firefighter: Jake. The ultimate compliment is being called "a good jake".

Alarms: We hve a slang term called a "bagger" A two alarm fire is a "two bagger", etc.

Ambulance: Bone box. If you are assigned to the ambulance, you're "riding the bone". Also known as the gut wagon.

Rake: a pike pole, a tool used to pull walls and ceiling down for fire extinguishment and overhaul.

Skater: a firefighter who always manages to avoid work.

Dorrway Dancer: a firefighter who always manages to have a problem with their PPE just before entering a burning building.
    ‎"The education of a firefighter and the continued education of a firefighter is what makes "real" firefighters. Continuous skill development is the core of progressive firefighting. We learn by doing and doing it again and again, both on the training ground and the fireground."
    Lt. Ray McCormack, FDNY

MembersZone Subscriber

very good description of wacker. It's not just one thing that makes a wacker, but the whole package.
    PAJ

IACOJ Rehab Sector

Default brenor

How about telling us some of your terms....
    Rescue Squad 12 to FireAlarm!!.....Squad 12?.....Give Me The 3 Alram!!!!!!

MembersZone Subscriber

Hey all,