Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber RoughRider's Avatar

Default NY Volunteer looking to be paid FF in Fl.

I'm looking for help, ideas, guidance to become a paid firefighter in Florida. I'm an NYS EMT - D, Have Natíl FF I certification and many more from Nassau County Fire Academy in NY. There are opportunities listed on this site that I would like to apply for but want to do my homework before hand.
    Fortune does not change men; it unmasks them.

The grass ain't greener, the wine ain't sweeter!! Either side of the hill.

IACOJ PROUD

MembersZone Subscriber

Let me help you out. You want ideas and guidance, I will give you a checklist. Here goes:

1. Move to Florida
    2. Get you Fl state EMT or National Registry EMT
    3. Apply/attend any number of FL fire academies
    4. Apply for the hundreds of openings
    5. Consider medic school

Reasoning: FL does not accept/offer reciprocity for any other states fire certs. If you think you have enough hours and training, you may challenge the test, but I assure you that you will fail. It is a ball buster. After 10 years as a paid fire/medic, I had to redo the academy, so take that for what its worth.
    If you do not have National Registry EMT-B or higher, you are again offered no reciprocity. You must do EMT class and be either state certified or national.
    Why do I tell you to become an EMT before going to fire school? Because admission is competitive and you are given points based on certain criteria. Those that are EMT's get in before those that are not. I do not know of any place that will hire you as a FF only. You have to be minimum of EMT.
    Once you have both of these completed, apply for jobs. They are a plenty and if you are not picky, you can be picked up relatively quick.