Thread: High Rise Fires

MembersZone Subscriber

Default High Rise Fires

What are your department's tactics for fighting high rise fires? What size, length of high rise pack do you use? How do you ventilate the structure? Do you send crews to the roof through an interior stairwell? What is everyone's opinion on opening the bulkhead @ the top of the building, and then sending the crew down the stairs to search the top floors?

I have zero experience in High Rise methods, so any help would be appreciated.

Forum Member

The "search" button is your friend.

We use two packs, each with one 100' section of 2" liteweight hose. One pack has a low pressure fog nozzle, the other a 10' section of 3" hose and a liteweight gated wye.

Most of the time, you cant vent right away, so we use an indirect fog type attack and set up PPV as soon as possible.

We dont usually vent the roof, unless the fire is on the top floor.

Thats the basics, but do try a search. This has been talked about alot here.
    Fire Marshal/Safety Officer

IAAI-NFPA-IAFC/VCOS-Retired IAFF

"No his mind is not for rent, to any god or government"
    RUSH-Tom Sawyer

Success is when skill meets opportunity
    Failure is when fantasy meets reality

Forum Member

Tim,

Just for the sake of reinvigorating the Fireground Tactics thread I'll throw in my two cents on our tactics in Hi-Rise Multiple Dwellings

The 1st due truck enters and goes up to find the fire. We use the 7-up rule (we are very simple LOL). If it's on the 7th floor or below we walk up. Anything above we take the elevator 2 floors below and walk up from there.

Initial Truck Targets:
    - Elevators must be controlled. (Initially by the 1st due inside team then relieved by the 1st due OV)
    - Fire must be located and the best route for the engine to access must be determined. (1st due Inside team - Boss, can & irons)