Forum Member

Default "Standardized letter of Thanks/Support"

Here's a thought...how about a couple of seasoned veterans of the Fire Service, AFGP, etc (BC79er comes to mind :-) ), cobble together a nice standardized letter stating how well the AFGP works, how much it's appreciated and what a fantastic program it really is...for departments, communitites, citizens and federal folks.

Post the letter and encourage everyone to download it, mod it a little to fit their department and then send it on to DHS and/or our elected officials.

I don't usually bring up a 'request for a to do' without taking a first stab, but I am new to the program and don't feel I have enough experiecne to draft such a letter. I, however, would be happy to assist in any way possible.

Again being new, I am not sure if this has been done or if it's really a good idea but thought I might throw it out for digestion.

Our department has been very fortunate. We got a 2004 grant award for PPE, SCBA and got the 10 questions on May 25, 2005 for this year. I can't help but want to join a bandwagon of support for this program.

Please let me know if I am cracking smoke as I would love to help.

Best,

Matt
    --
    e.g.h.
    Matt

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Letter

Matt, that is a good idea. Check my website next week and I will have one posted to use.

KB

FH Mag/.com Contributor

I certainly appreciate the thought of being someone to craft such a thing. And while any contact that the members of Congress get in support of this program is great, I think personalized letters would get more attention. Too many organizations mail form letters for people to sign in support for/against something. I know I get a ton of them and basically the message is lost on me when they all sound the same.