Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default 2005 Fire Prevention Grants

The fire prevention grant period will be upon us before we all realize it. That said does anyone have any ideas or past projects that were submitted and accepted. Last year my department was awarded a fire safety trailer which seemed like our ultimate go for the stars project. Now we are kind of searching for some ideas and feedback from others. Does anyone have some good ideas or things that have a good shot at being rewarded.

MembersZone Subscriber

I was just thinking along the same lines myself. I am very new to the grant world. This year was my 1st attempt at the "big one", and with some help, we got the questions & 1199A. So I am starting to look at the Fire Prevention Grant as well.

In addition to the questions you have, djs2740, I am also wondering after reading last year's Program Guidance about the risk assessment they talk about. How is this done? What have others done that has been successful? How in depth does it need to be? Don't want to hijack the thread, but my questions are similar to those of djs2740.

Thanks,
    Beth
    Last edited by befferk; 07-18-2005 at 01:49 PM.

The risk assesment is a fancy way of saying you have to "know you have a problem" not just "say you have a problem". In other words you have to conduct a study to find out if the problem truly exists. This can be a very simple process or complicated one as the project might demand. IE:

Let's say you want to put smoke detectors in the homes in your community and then do a battery change out at 6 month intervals. You are going to need to show that most of the homes in oyur community do not have smoke detectors in order to prove that the need exists. In this scenario I might contact a local boy scout or girl scout troop and reqeust their aid for a "community service" project, which all scouts generally have to do in order to earn some of their merit badges.