Forum Member

Default Munter Hitch Belay

I am sure this debate has been hashed out before on the forum, but here goes anyway.

I am finding that the munter hitch is being used significantly in different parts of the country as the primary belay in a rope system. It is being applied in confined space (attaching to tri-pod), vertical rope rescue (rappel belay, and stokes with atendant).

Here is my delema. I am a tandem triple-wrap prussik w/LRH kind of guy. I like the security that if my belayer sneezes and lets go of the rope I will stop. I also feel that when safety checking a rope system a "hands-off" approach should be taken. If everyone let go would the system stop. An even bigger concern is in training. As an instructor I have an issue with, litterally, a students life being in another students hands.

Here are my questions. Is the munter capable of stopping a rescue load with a fall factor of 3? If it is capable, is the belay in a condition that it can still be part of the system. Ie converted to a raise or lower. (Assuming mainline failure) How do you operate your munter? Do you let the load pull it through, or do you use a "push/pull" method? (One hand feeds rope into the hitch the other pulls the slack through.)

I am trying to embrace the munter hitch. But I need to be convinced it equals or out performs other belay systems.

Forum Member