Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Relocating

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Relocating

I'm a fire fighter - paramedic in a small town in Southeastern MA. I'm looking to relocate to southern California (I've always wanted to live out there, and now that I've just gotten hitched, I figured it was the perfect time) So I'm looking for information on the job forcast for the area, different requirements (residency, CA license, etc) as well as the possibility of lateral transfers state to state, and the process of transferring my MA state paramedic cert to a CA, or National cert...

Thanks.

The job market out here's been tough for several years now, but is starting to open up some due to many retirements. I know several of the larger departments (LA County, LA City, Orange County) and some of the smaller ones are or have been hiring recently. Not sure what its like up in the northern part of the state.

On the fire side, most departments require a CA FF1 cert or completion of a FF1-accredited academy (you can only get the actual FF1 once you get hired). Not sure what they'd do with out-of-state experience.

On the EMS side, most of the departments around here require a CA EMT-1 (Basic) as a minimum and prefer a Paramedic license. EMS certification/licensing is handled at both the state and county level with the county being the primary entity, so the best bet would be to speak directly to the county EMSA for wherever you're looking to move. If you go to the California EMSA website, they have links to all the county EMSAs. I've heard that it can be somewhat difficult to transfer a certification/license into CA, but I have no personal experience with that.