Forum Member

Default Help for someone not even a probie yet!

OK, first post after cruising this site for quite a while. I couldn't any similar preexisting threads.

I am as new and green as they come. I just submitted my application for a suburban area VFD after years of hesitation. Hesitation mostly because I figured the local VFDs were swamped with people and, frankly, I was always a little intimitaded by the inevitable "clicky-ness" that you'd find in any established organization. After hearing from a volunteer that the department actually needed people and needed them bad, I put in my application three days later. No official word yet on my status (it takes a few weeks to clear all the background checks I've been told), but hopefully the initial processing will be as routine as they come. So far, everyone I've met there has been as nice as can be.

I just turned 40 and I work on computer networks for a living. I'm in OK shape but I need to hit the weights more often for sure! I've been doing as much reading as I can regarding the technical aspects of firefighting and reading forums such as this to get a general feel for how things actually are.

Does anybody have any suggestions on what I can do to better prepare myself to be as useful as possible to my department? Any links to good online or printed resources?

I'd like to hit the ground running with some semblance of being clued in! My goal is to be FF1 as soon as I can, and afterward, I guess I'll see what the department needs the most.

I already know I'm gonna be pranked and stuck with cleaning bathrooms, I'm OK with that! Many thanks in advance!

Forum Member

two words for you brother DROP TANK or anytime someone says hey is it raining and the sky is very very clear

I think your on the right track just remember you will never know everything.

MembersZone Subscriber

I recently joined a local VFD. Getting off probation this coming Monday