MembersZone Subscriber

Default Nothing Is Impossible...nothing!

Brothers...

I am living proof here today that is possible to get on a FD that has been deemed one of the impossibles.

I just received the letter I've been waiting for. I report to the academy Aug. 22nd to my dream job! While I have been a firefighter for many years, this is the greatest thing to happen to me in my career as a firefighter.

I had quite a bit of things stacked against me: I'm 33, I live over 300 miles away from where I want to be, and city employes have priority to be appointed to the fire department. Ironicly, this being my dream job, it was the very first time I had the opportinity to test there. I ranked high enough where I had a chance.

The entrance list expiration date was appoaching. "Rumors" of one last class before it is up. Then, the best Fathers Day gift ever! We were out of town over that weekend, and we got home late that Sunday night. I was the first to the mailbox. I pulled the mail out and this envelope fell to the ground face down. I picked it up, flipped it over and saw the return address. I was in shock and awe. I remember my wife saying "I suppose thats 'THE letter' !" I just looked at her and smiled. Finally, after jumping through all the hoops of chief's interviews, physicals, and the hurry up and waiting my day has arrived.

I have many people on these threads to thank for that. Some, no longer visit us here, but reading Capt. Bob's posts and even skimming thru his websire helped me with my biggest problem... The dreaded interviews! I have always done my best to stay fit, but buying Capt. Stefano's "Firefighter Workout Book" and visiting his website also helped me get that extra edge.