Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
    Permanently Removed hoseheadmaps's Avatar

Default FDNY Chiefs' Union Pres Says Don't Volunteer

i wonder if he has a D.N.R bumper sticker on his car in case he get's into an accident. DO NOT RESCUE - unless your paid.

and I wonder why a guy in PA is worried about what firefighters in New York do?
    "This thread is being closed as it is off-topic and not related to the fire industry." - Isn't that what the Off Duty forum was for?

Probably because the FDNY is a HUGE leader in the business. And their words and actions set a big example that many people follow or look to as precident.

If it were some small town chief in Nowhere, Ohio, I'd say...big deal. But this is the FDNY Chiefs' Union President.
    When I get to hell
    The devil he will say
    "How'd you put my fires out?
    In just one day?"
    I lift my hose up higher and higher
    that's how I do it, I'm a firefighter!

i wonder what a guy from nj is doing worring about what a guy in pa is posting

MembersZone Subscriber

I don't think it really matters, the fact is that many cities/townships/villages cannot afford full time firefighters (including mine). Do you really think that 80% or whatever the number is of vol. fire houses are just going to go full time/paid? Never happen.
    EMT-B
    Garfield Twp. Fire Department
    http://www.garfieldfire.com

MembersZone Subscriber

Default 2 Hatter Question

If I am a career firefighter, plus a volunteer somewhere else and get hurt while at a volunteer fire department job, who pays me when I don't make it in to work at the paying job?

And to they have to wait for me to return, or can they get rid of me?

if your hurt while performing your duties as a volly your covered under workmans comp thru your local municipality.

MembersZone Subscriber

I wonder why it matters that it is the FDNY? It could have been any career department, it's still ludicrous.