Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Arrow FF1/FF2 CERTS - What else is good to have?

Greetings,

I am fairly new to the EMS service - my past expierence has been with the State Corrections and with a Tribal Police Dept. I have been becoming more and more interested in the EMS and Fire side of Emergency Services and recently obtained my EMT-B cert.

I am currently dispatching for a local FD here and would like to know what Fire Science classes would be good to have along with the FF1/2 needed to join a FD.

Also some folks have recommend NOT taking these types of classes at the Community College Level, as some of the FD's tend to not take you as seriously as if you had taken the FF1/2 through an actual FD.

And yes I get grief from both sides - the old PD brothers and the EMS/Fire folks I now work with!
    Warm Regards,
    Shawn Stoner
    EMT-B

Shawn:

Do you have an idea about what department(s) you would like to work for? If so then ask the members there for advice because each department is different.

Fire Science courses are a great way to go, IMHO, if you have the time. A BS would be great or an Associates. As to specific courses it depends on what you want out of them? Fire behavior? With experience in the PD are you interested in Arson investigation?

One final note: write an email to several colleges with fire science programs and ask them what course sequence they reccomend.

Best of luck to you!
    Jacktee

IACOJ

"Insert quotation here."

MembersZone Subscriber

While the FF1 and FF2 classes are national level classes, many other fire courses and requirements vary from state to state. Take all the classes you can. Every class you take will only help to build your resume, whether it's a class taken at the local college or through a fire department.

Shawn: