Forum Member

Default Who got their start as military firefighters?

I got my start in the military, it was very good to me. Just wondering how many of you out there got your start in the military as a firefighter or medic.

Forum Member

I did, or will rather. I have yet to start.
    When I get to hell
    The devil he will say
    "How'd you put my fires out?
    In just one day?"
    I lift my hose up higher and higher
    that's how I do it, I'm a firefighter!

Forum Member

Default Good luck to ya

You will come out of your school with some good certifications like FFI/II, ARFF, Haz-Mat Ops and Medical First Responder.

MembersZone Subscriber

I got my start as a medic. I was an EMT at White Sands for 4 years. When I moved back to Michigan they didnt accept the National Registry so I let my license lapse. I start in 2 weeks again to get my EMT and have been on this department for about 5 mos or so now, and I was on a volunteer department downstate for about a year, but have not had any formal FF training yet, I start my FF1 this fall as well. Looking forward to it, and glad I got the start I did in the Army.
    EMT-B
    Garfield Twp. Fire Department
    http://www.garfieldfire.com

MembersZone Subscriber

Cool

I started in the Navy as a Hull technician. That is a combination of Damage Control(firefighting) and Shipfitter ( welding, pipefitting and sheet metal) Now have 26 years on a paid department

MembersZone Subscriber
    Loco madidus effercio in rutilus effercio.

I got my first "taste" of fire through the navy. Even though I'm an "office Geek", we are all required to take basic shipboard firefighting before doing sea duty. That was the summer of 1992 - between being at sea and my old FD, I've managed to put away almost 10yrs... WOW - I never really thought of what I do those terms before.

(I think a light bulb just went off )
    If you don't do it RIGHT today, when will you have time to do it over? (Hall of Fame basketball player/coach John Wooden)