Forum Member

Default Are Unions Becoming Obsolete?

Forum Member

In answer to your query...

no.
    ‎"The education of a firefighter and the continued education of a firefighter is what makes "real" firefighters. Continuous skill development is the core of progressive firefighting. We learn by doing and doing it again and again, both on the training ground and the fireground."
    Lt. Ray McCormack, FDNY

Forum Member

uh oh is it just me, or could this macro be used more often on this forum?
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    When I get to hell
    The devil he will say
    "How'd you put my fires out?
    In just one day?"
    I lift my hose up higher and higher
    that's how I do it, I'm a firefighter!

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by CaptainGonzo
    In answer to your query...

no.
    Ditto, ditto.(to make it long enough to post).

Forum Member

Obsolete? No.

Less Effective? Yes

Additonal Note: After re-reading the post from wherever that site was I wanted to add that the notion that unions drive manufacturing overseas is a bit much. Larger profit margins and labor that is not only cheap, but criminal, allows companies to use the "labor sucks" mantra. In truth it is greed - not only at the top but at the shareholder level.

Labor is in a bit of a fix now. There is a lot of work for labor leaders to do if they hope to make a connection with the populace again. In this climate it will be a dicy affair.
    Last edited by JackTee09; 08-11-2005 at 08:55 PM.
    Jacktee

IACOJ

"Insert quotation here."

Forum Member

Default Opinions expected - still waiting for reasons.

Belly on up to the table and explain yourself. Some good points made here for the question. Anyone with opinions they'd like to offer beyond just yes or no, c'mon over.

Forum Member

and Thank You for another shameless plug for your website.