Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default You're Kidding, Right?

I am a firefighter from Texas, who has the dual viewpoint of being a Captain for a very wealthy Metroplex department and the Chief of a rural Volunteer department, that is resouce strapped, at best. I am reviewing the first round of awards and am having a hard time believing some of the awards to some relatively wealthy communities, in my area while other grant requests from some very resource-challenged departments (and yes, one from my VFD) were not initially funded.
    One of the departments who was funded today, and I am glad for their sake they were funded, is a department that I have made request to in the past for hand-me-down equipment. Again, this is the initial awards, but I know of many, many other under-resourced departments that have basic needs that must be addressed to just stay functional, that were skipped over today and resources given to well-resourced departments that probably applied for the grant because they didn't want to have to justify it in the upcoming budget, not because their community couldn't have funded it.
    Well, thanks for letting me get that off my chest, I am sure if mine and some others in my rural network are funded I will think this is the best thing since sliced bread, but right now I don't. Stay safe.

MembersZone Subscriber

Default I agree

This is the second time for this grant stuff for my underfunded department.
    I really don't understand the whole process.
    It seems that those who need the help the most are the first ones to be left out.
    All we want is a little help .
    It seems that we don't have enough call volume. AND WE'RE PUNISHED for it.
    yes I seem bitter. but more discouraged than anything else.

Forum Member

Default Maybe not so quick...