Thread: Fire Lanes

Forum Member

Default Fire Lanes

We run into people in my district on a regular basis who insist on parking their cars in the fire lane. I was just curious as to whether anybody else has a big problem with this, and how do you handle it?

Forum Member

Citations, or tow. Simple fix.

Forum Member

Pushbars on front of fire engines? j/k of course
    When I get to hell
    The devil he will say
    "How'd you put my fires out?
    In just one day?"
    I lift my hose up higher and higher
    that's how I do it, I'm a firefighter!

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by Spectre08
    Pushbars on front of fire engines? j/k of course
    Why don't you advocate lighting them on fire?

Forum Member

No fire lanes in my Volunteer district, but they are every where at the plant I work at. At work we give a citation, contact the owner, and if vehicle is not moved within 30 minutes it gets towed.
    "WAS THAT BEFORE OR AFTER YOU REALIZED YOU WERE STANDING IN A $#@%*&% PUDDLE OF GASOLINE?"

Forum Member

Have P.D. issue citations (unless it is allowed for F.D.) seems to work well. If there is no response from the owner/opreator have the vehicle removed from the fire lane.
    K-9 hunt, the ultimate challange.
    EVERYONE GOES HOME
    IACOJ

Forum Member

because that only leads to 1 more fire you have to put out, and a distraction from the original fire of course
    When I get to hell
    The devil he will say
    "How'd you put my fires out?
    In just one day?"
    I lift my hose up higher and higher
    that's how I do it, I'm a firefighter!

Forum Member

I think its a big problem all over. If it looks like they are going to be there/have been there a while, we call PD.

We have a super market in our area. People love to pull into the fire lans and run to the ATM. Whenever we run a call there and I find this, I block them in with the engine. That way, they have to hang around till we're finished.