Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread
Page 1 of 9 1234 ... LastLast

Default DoD Fire Academy, what can I expect?

So what kind of training, housing, treatment, etc. can I expect at the DoD Fire Academy in San Angelo, Tx? I'll be there starting mid-december. How long does it take to graduate?
    When I get to hell
    The devil he will say
    "How'd you put my fires out?
    In just one day?"
    I lift my hose up higher and higher
    that's how I do it, I'm a firefighter!

MembersZone Subscriber
    Ie Shima Training Facility, Okinawa, Japan

the school is great!! I went there in '97 and again to get my HAZMAT T-t-T last year. ANYTHING and everything you could ever want is there. Just remember to study!! If you want to know more exact details, where to go what to do let me know.

cgerdes97
    Firehouse.com Guest

.............................. .
    Last edited by cgerdes97; 11-28-2007 at 12:18 PM.

Forum Member

Goodfellow is great. The food is good and the town is not very big so it doesnt give you very many distractions. I loved it down there it is an experience i will never forget. Like it was stated above remember to study.

Forum Member

Talking See You When I Get There

I start the Academy on 5 Jan.06,,,,,,, Just look for the Old Fart in that class (33 yr.old TSgt.) I wish I would have cross trained 10 years ago. I have heard nothing but great marks about the Folks and training at the Goodfellow,,,I am looking forward to it all,as long as those "young'ns" don't kill me in the process..

cgerdes97
    Firehouse.com Guest

LOL good luck man. You'll have fun on 'drags and carries'. TSgt P I think yout thinking of... short guy. He's a great instructor and he's got some awesome stories.

cgerdes97
    Firehouse.com Guest

Haha, I thought you were refering to a TSgt that was an instructor,sorry about that. So your re-classing as an E-6? going from 3 level all over again huh?

Forum Member