Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default What are the chances??

Was just wondering what are the chances of being called within a year? I applied, and wasn't selected but was told my application would be on file for a year. Does anyone know the chances of being called back? Im new to the fire service so don't know what to expect. Also been sending applications anywhere I can, hadn't heard very much back, but I sent them in a few weeks ago. Any advice would be great.

Quote Originally Posted by ffman02
    Was just wondering what are the chances of being called within a year? I applied, and wasn't selected but was told my application would be on file for a year. Does anyone know the chances of being called back? Im new to the fire service so don't know what to expect. Also been sending applications anywhere I can, hadn't heard very much back, but I sent them in a few weeks ago. Any advice would be great.

I would guess it would be on where you have applied and how big the department is that you are on the list. They may not hired but a few ( maybe 10 - 20) people during the life of the list.

Have you applied in a large department, where the turn over is greater and the hiring is more than the small department where only 2 or 4 people are hired every year.
    Stay Safe and Well Out There....

Always remembering 9-11-2001 and 343+ Brothers

MembersZone Subscriber

Thanks for the response. Yes, its a pretty small town. Chief said he was interviewing like 30 people for 6 or 7 positions so not sure what to expect? If I will get called back or just move on? Yes, I definetly put apps in so far to some of the bigger cities, hadn't heard anything yet but just sent them out about 2 or 3 weeks ago. What do you think?

Forum Member

Default Learn How to Take an Interview