View Poll Results: Should paid full time FF's ever join a volunteer department?

Voters
127. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, they are an asset to volunteer departments and should be allowed to join!

106 83.46%
  • No, the IAFF is your union, listen to them and stay paid only!

21 16.54%
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default Full Time and for free?

I am a professional firefighter with 5 years of paychecks under my belt. However, I started out as a volly and...

I just joined the local volunteer department. Yes, I am an IAFF member. Yes I know the IAFF frowns upon profesional FF's volunteering.

My feelings: there is no way possible that every FD in the county can become paid. Some localities (such as the one I joined) have no chance of ever being able to afford full-timers. What do you guys/gals think?

Forum Member

Imho, full timers should be able to volunteer, if for no other reason than it is their free time, and they should be able to use their time as they want. Many career people start as vollies, and it would be too bad for the volunteer fire service to lose a member every time he/she started getting a paycheck.

My .02
    There goes the neighborhood.

MembersZone Subscriber

I am a volunteer and have an application in trying to get paid at a different department. If I get lucky enough to get on as a career ff, I will still stay on as a volunteer at my local department. I think paid guys should have the right to choose. Even if they don't run alot of the calls, the knowledge and experience gained from running countless calls is priceless when that information is passed on to the vollies that may only see a couple hundred calls a year.

Forum Member

Dearest Farmun,