Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default in need of some advice

I had my first and only interview for paid-on-call employment this week and have already been cut before the physical testing. This has come as a total shock to me considering a number of factors. But maybe I'm too naÔve to understand that maybe I don't fit this line of work no matter how much I wish to be a part of it. This is why I'm seeking input from those of you who either hire or have been where I've been but have moved past it.

I'm 35 and a strong 6'5". I have zero training and knowledge of the job. But I'm college educated, have been a member of Mensa and believed I portrayed my need to fulfill my civic responsibility in being a firefighter. In other words, without pulling out my ACT and SAT scores, college diploma and neighbors for whom I've done numerous good deeds, I don't believe I could have done anything else to give myself a shot at the full-gear run-throughs.

Unregrettably, I told the panel I am not motivated by money because I wanted to prove my honesty. What motivates me is knowing that my community, particularly children, is knowledgeable in fire safety and that I can provide the peace of mind it might need if there ever comes a time for it.

My denial letter alludes to the department nearest my home being inundated with applicants but the specifics as to why I was bailed stop there. (There is another station within the required zone from my house but there is no reference to that in the letter.) I can understand if all other applicants have experience and I plan on following up for more information about me but are you noticing something in me or my approach that already has you throwing flags?

I've never interviewed for a public service job but I know this is where I need to be. Without proving it on the testing grounds and in the classroom, I'm clueless as to how I can snatch that opportunity.