Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Question Information on Flashovers

Attention Firefighters
    My name is firestorm0901, I am a high school student in G/T Chemistry seeking information for a Science Fair project. The topic of my project is the phenomenon of flashovers. As part of my project I must reasearch and present information to a panel of judges. Unfortunately, there is a lack of information out there and I am turning to you,the experts, for support. I would appreciate any knowledge you can provide from personal experience about tactics and techniques concering flashovers. If you would like to speak further about my project, feel free to e-mail me. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

firestorm0901

What exactley do you want to know. To be very basic, the best tactics for preventing flashover is to provide ventilation or extinguish the fire. The tactics to accomplish this are many. There is a large variety of ways to ventilate a building or apply water to the fire.

For future reference, if you want people to email you.......you should include your email address.
    Last edited by MemphisE34a; 09-09-2005 at 06:48 PM.
    RK
    cell #901-494-9437

Management is making sure things are done right. Leadership is doing the right thing. The fire service needs alot more leaders and a lot less managers.

"Everyone goes home" is the mantra for the pussification of the modern, American fire service.

Comments made are my own. They do not represent the official position or opinion of the Fire Department or the City for which I am employed. In fact, they are normally exactly the opposite.

I'd have to agree with MemphisE34a. Theres really not alot to flashovers, basically the flashover is the transition between the growth and fully developed stage of the fire and is not a specific event such as ignition.

other notes for your project if you did not know.