Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Forum Member

Question Peterbilt Engine

My department has ordered a model 335 Peterbilt engine with a Cummins ISC 315 HP motor. It will have a 4 man full response crew cab. They plan to carry 1000 gallons of water with the typical other engine loads. We are a small volunteer department, running about 350 calls per year. I am new to this department and wasn't on the apparatus committee so I did not have a say in this truck. I do not believe that this truck will be sufficient because it is a medium duty truck. We already have one similar from 91 that is under powered but on a bigger chassis.

Just wondering what everyones take is on this? They won't listen to my opinion.

32,we're missing some details here.What transmission and what rear gear ratio? Also are you mountains,hills or "flat"ground? An ISC will haul 1000 with little problem but I don't personally favor any of the "mouse"(9 liter)motors for fire service use.Many communities run them with great success.We run a similar call rate but with a lot "heavier"iron.We won't spec anything under an 11 liter engine and put heavy spec axles and trannies behind that.But we also keep 'em for upwards of 25 yrs.I think you may be pleasantly surprised how well that truck will perform.And sounds like you're locked into it anyway,T.C.

Forum Member

Smile power

I agree with rescue 101 that I prefer the big iron engines, usually 12 liter or bigger. Go to the different web sites like Detroit Diesel where you can find Detroit and Mercedes engines, IH, Cummins and Cat sites. You can get horsepower and torque ratios for the various engine sizes.

Forum Member