MembersZone Subscriber

Default How can I get past this?

I'm a firefighter/EMT. Last month we worked a scene where a good man (and police officer) got run down while deploying a spike strip by a long-listed felon. My department worked the perp. The perp was later declared fine and we found that he had faked his injuries. We had already airlifted the perp because we couldn’t determine the problem. All EMTs thought he was faking, but it was illegal to refuse transport. The officer was declared dead at the scene.

All police and rescue personnel at that scene are still receiving help for their trauma.

I've been doing this for a few of years, so of course I admit to becoming a bit calloused. Most people in this field have a psychic callous across their feelings. It protects me…that thick, unfeeling crust cocoons that part of me that yearns to relive the pain of every call. How else can we go back to bed at night? But the things I've seen that give me nightmares are not the screams of pain, the last gasps of broken bodies…the burning dreams, or dead pets that I exhume…

Sometimes the “those fireman didn’t do it right” rumors give me a pause of anger and the “fark this…it’s not worth it!” feelings have almost made me quit more times than I can count.

I want to quit right now because of these rumors.

But I eat it. I always eat it. I realize people don’t really know what we do…they really don’t understand why we didn’t save their garage when they had acetylene tanks exploding in it. They think we failed and they spew hatred at us at the local gas station and convenient stores. The “you incompetent bastards took 10 minutes to get here while my house burned” quote is ever-present. What horse****. We were onscene within 4 minutes and had planned water on it within 7 minutes.