MembersZone Subscriber

Question Light Bulb Question

Currently in an investigations class at our local community college. Our instructor gave an assignment in which I can not seem to locate the answer and hoping someone can help me. Instructor wants us to find out what happens to tempetures around a standard light bulb when the bulb is hanging down, sideways and rightside up. Already found out how to tell if the bulb was on or off during the fire and the bulb is broken, anyhelp would be appreciated.

Forum Member

I am told that the heat flow around a bulb will cause it to bend in the direction that the fire was coming from but I have no personal knowledge of seeing it.

Quote Originally Posted by mccookfire36
    Currently in an investigations class at our local community college. Our instructor gave an assignment in which I can not seem to locate the answer and hoping someone can help me. Instructor wants us to find out what happens to tempetures around a standard light bulb when the bulb is hanging down, sideways and rightside up. Already found out how to tell if the bulb was on or off during the fire and the bulb is broken, anyhelp would be appreciated.

MembersZone Subscriber
    Not the end of the earth but I can see it from here...

Not Light Bulb......

DARK SUCKER!!!!!!!!

Chief Dwayne LeBlanc
    Paincourtville Volunteer Fire Department
    Paincourtville, LA

"I have a dream. It's not a big dream, it's just a little dream. My dream and I hope you don't find this too crazy is that I would like the people of this community to feel that if, God forbid, there were a fire, calling the fire department would actually be a wise thing to do. You can't have people, if their houses are burning down, saying, 'Whatever you do, don't call the fire department!' That would be bad."
    C.D. Bales, "Roxanne"

MembersZone Subscriber

You guys were a lot of help.