MembersZone Subscriber

Default Firefighter wanted to relocate!!!

Hey guys im a 13 year firefighter full time here in biloxi mississippi.
    Ready to relocate how tough is it to change states im looking at denver or
    charlote north carolina,nevada it seems all the fire dept. make you test cpat etc. you know the drill.Been a busy month down here on the gulf coast,its
    unreal what has happened here.Its a great thing to see all firefighters come together in such a crisis!!

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Denver Area

I'm not sure how easy it will be for you to transfer your certs over to Colorado. If you have an IFSAC accredited certification I think you may just have to take the written test to get it transfer over. Are you a paramedic? Most departments in Colorado are difinetly giving preference to paramedics, even thoughs people who do not have any fireground experience. Most departments in Colorado are ALS fire departments with many begining to if not all ready doing the transport side of EMS. If you are an EMT-B it will be more difficult to get a job, but not impossible. Colorado is seeing a lot of grow and fire deparments are continously hiring. Colorado is a great place to work with decent pay most FF/EMT's start out at 35-40K and most FF/Paramedics make 45-50K some more and some less. The best of luck to you, let me know if you have any more questions about FD's in Colorado.

MembersZone Subscriber

hey COFF1126, which department do you work for? I'm here in Colorado, i live in Denver right now. Im not on a department yet but im starting the process with South Metro right now, also gonna try Denver and Pueblo.

MembersZone Subscriber

Charlotte is a great place to work but you do have to go back through Rookie school. They will take your EMT if you have it provided you're up to date with your in-service hours. Next written test is March 11 2006. Any other questions email me at queencityfireman@yahoo.com

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Colorado FD