Forum Member

Default Current Situation of Rescue Ropes in FDNY

Yes I SEARCHED. But after reading pages on pages of personal insults flying both ways in all different conversations I could not come up with the current situation. I have to write a proposal for a change in policy for a business written communications class. I am a volunteer firefighter from Orange County, NY and attend Manhattan College in the Bronx. We were instructed to chose a topic which is current and appeals to us. I decided I wanted to do something related to firefighting and this seems to be the most current topic with the most information available. My proposal is to have the FDNY reissue ropes and harnesses to firefighters. In my proposal I must present evidence in why I want this to happen and acknowledge the opposition and prove them wrong.

So here is where I need help:

During the time of Von Esson, were both harnesses and ropes provided by the department? If so, what types of each?

At the time of Black Sunday, had the harnesses been revoked as well as the ropes?

At this time have the harnesses been reissued to firefighters? If so, do engine companies, ladder companies, and special units have them?

What is the main argument of the opposition of reinstating the equipment AMONG FIREFIGHTERS NOT ADMINISTRATION?

Besides the occurences of Black Sunday (not to belittle the courage these men exerted or to minimize the ultimate sacrafice they paid) what other pushes, if any, were there to reinstate the ropes (and harnesses?)?

Also what is the punishment for carrying personal escape rope and/or a harness if it is against department policy?
    Last edited by t13one12; 10-03-2005 at 04:36 PM.
    9/11/01 D.C. Joseph "Uncle Joe" Marchbanks
    Battalion 12
    Heaven In Harlem

Tim
    CFD #143

Forum Member

Even if you don't know all the answers, some would be appreciated. Otherwise I'll just have to go find the 52's to ask them.
    Battalion 12
    Heaven In Harlem

Tim
    CFD #143