MembersZone Subscriber

Default Target Audiences and Curriculum

Just curious as to what school level your department visits with when Fire Prevention Week rolls around. Or at any time of the year for all that matters.

I've been behind the wheel of our Fire Prevention and Safety division for a little over three years now and have only addressed K thru 6th in our local school. My curriculum is geared more toward the younger pre-middle school child and I was wondering if there was anything available to offer the older child in this situation.

I'm no psychologist, nor do I have a teaching degree. What I do have are my own children who are in this age bracket and who are way to clever for the presentation that I give. They've told me on occasion that they all know this kind of stuff already. Maybe that's a sign of a job well done in previous years, or maybe it's just the "know-it-all" attitude that comes with the territory. I'd be interested to know what any of you do.

Forum Member

We only visit kindergarten through grade 5 in our school system as the middle schools lie outside of our jurisdiction in another district (we use a parish/county rather than a true "local" school system). We have targeted as follows:

Kindergarten:
    Mirrors our preschool program as it targets match/lighter behavior, as juvenile firesetting, which is primarily accidental in nature at this age, is the number one cause of accidental death for children under 5 in the home. We also teach "Firefighter Isn't a Monster".

1st/2nd Grade:
    We discuss smoke detectors and residental fire escape.

3rd Grade:
    Hotel, motel and public Assembly (resturants, stores, etc.) fire escape.

4th Grade: