Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Swiftwater Rescue Wetsuit?

Any suggestions for swifwater rescue wetsuits? How thick?
    Developer and Sr. Presenter, Team Xtreme
    BIG RIG RESCUE

Forum Member

To steal a line from Austin Powers, "Swiftwater ain't my bag baby". But what training I do have I have found that dry suits are the way to go. They are a little harder to swim in (no additional floatation), but they provide unbelievable range of motion compared to a wet suit. NRS is probably one of the top places to buy.

I have used a 6.5 mil farmer john. I liked the farmer john style, but the 6.5 gave me 13 mil in the chest. It restricted my movement and was extremely hot.

What part of the country? In Texas I would recommend a 3 mil. We have looked at those swiftwater immersion suits but I haven't tried them yet.

Forum Member

I have little experience in swift water rescue. However I have worn and worked in a dry suit for 3 winters for the Coast Guard. I was using a Cocatat (I think that is how it is spelled) dry suit. I have been in the water several times for training. Excellent movement ability however we still needed a PFD. as far as staying warm under movement they work and the water stayed out. However we were not in swift water. The nice thing about the ones we had is that they still allowed us to wear law enforcement gear. (Or a rescue harness) Have fun and in this business stay safe and also warm.

Forum Member