Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Question Leather or Rubber Structural Firefighting Boots?

I am a firefighter in Memphis, TN and am looking for some feedback concerning turnout boots. I am wondering what type of boots are being worn in different departments and areas in the country. Do you wear leather or rubber boots? What type of boots does your department supply? Which type of boot do you feel is more comfortable, durable and safer? Do you feel that leather boots are worth the added expense? If anyone can help me by answering these questions, it would greatly be appreciated. Please, feel free to add any tales or experiences to your remarks. Thanks to everyone who responds.

Forum Member

Default Philadelphia

We started getting leathers a few years ago but were only issued to truckies and heavy rescue. As usual more ended up with them then they orignally expected. I would take the leathers over rubber any day of the week. They are more comfortable, seem just as safe, give better feel when climbing ladders, have better traction on those icy roofs. They feel kinda like wearing heavy sneakers. The department stopped issuing them about 6 months ago due to cost. Now everybody is getting those damn rubbers back. I was lucky and got an extra set so I will have them for awhile. The rubbers suck and when my leathers wear out, I probably will fork out my own money for a new set.

MembersZone Subscriber ffmsl224's Avatar

Default Rubber VS Leather