MembersZone Subscriber

Question Leather or Rubber Structural Firefighting Boots?

I am a firefighter in Memphis, TN and am looking for some feedback concerning turnout boots. I am currently working on my final project at The University Of Memphis, and would like some info from firefighters and not just from manufacturers. I am wondering what type of boots are being worn in different departments and areas around the country. Do you wear leather or rubber boots? What type of boots does your department supply? Which type of boot do you feel is more comfortable, durable, and safer? Do you feel that leather boots are worth the added expense, and if so do you buy your own, or would you buy your own if they were not supplied to you? if anyone can help me by answering these questions, it would be greatly appreciated. Please, feel free to add any tales or experiences to your remarks. Thanks to everyone who responds.

Forum Member

Our department issues the Pull-up and Zipper Haix. I would never go back to rubber boots and would try to purchase leather boots if they werent provided. I've never had a problem with my leather boots, but others have worn their toes to the metal after the fire academy. I use the pull-ups myself and haven't heard anything wrong with the zip-up models.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by mlavoie