Forum Member

Default Volunteering in orlando(need help)

I just moved to orlando not to long ago from sarasota, florida. I am a certified firefighter and i also just finished EMT school but i am not certified yet. I am looking for a dept that is looking for a volunteer right now around my area. I have looked, and have had no luck finding any volunteer dept. Can anyony help please????

Forum Member

Last time I was down in Disney, I stopped into a fire station (Osceola County FR) & talked with the guys (they were career FF/EMT/PM's)...they mentioned during our conversation that there were very few vollies in their area and that the few that did exist were referred to as "ticks" (their words not mine)...apparently, the vollies only cover the rural areas, their equipment is something along the lines of a pick-up with a skid unit and they have little to no training. The training issue is apparently why they are ill regarded...these guys were not anti-vollie, conversely they said they felt the vollies up north, particularly here on Long Island were very well trained...the guys by them were regarded as backwoods rednecks (again, their words not mine).

Again, this is just what I have been told. From my years of visiting relatives in FL, I've come to realize that there are very few volunteer fire departments down there. The few there are usually staffed with a paid first-out crew, cover rural areas or are located inside retirement communities...I remember one that covered the place where some relatives retired...the youngest guy on the dept. was about 62 and they ran a '47 Pirsch quad (and a '60's brush truck) as their primary attack engine...and this was in the late 80's!!!