Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber SeavilleFire's Avatar

Question Telesqurt First Out?

My department has ordered a new Pierce 75' telesqurt, 750gal water tank, and I believe it will be a 1500GPM pump (not positive though as I am not on the purchasing committee). There will probably be one or two 200' 1 3/4" preconnects and one 200' 2 1/2" preconnect. I tried to research this topic but couldn't find any discussions regarding ladders as a first out piece.

Discussions have been started around the firehouse whether or not this apparatus should become our first out piece for any type of fire incident, with the exception of brush fires. Our fire department does not currently have any ladder apparatus and never has. I know about ladder operations just from talking strategy and tactics at different courses I've attended over the years however, I have no personal experience with them and certainly do not have advanced training with them. I feel a good portion of the guys that have an opinion on the matter do not have much of a base to go off of and little or no experience in this area. For the typical bread-n-butter fire I don't see a problem with having the ladder the first apparatus out the door, however, for the bigger fires I see this as possibly being a problem, specifically with ladder placement and stretching a line off the truck, basically committing it to that exact spot throughout the remainder of the incident. This is an issue to me because we do not always have an officer up front, or an officer that knows what they are doing! Unless a chief is on scene to direct the placement of the truck, it might get put in the wrong spot. As stated, we've never had a ladder and I don't have any experience in this area so I am looking for some input from everyone regarding this topic so I can bring some different ideas and concepts to the discussion table from people who know more about the topic to help us in making a d