Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Live in programs...

Dear forum,

I am a volunteer firefighter from central New Jersey. I am currently a senior in high school and am actively looking to get a degree in Fire Science. The Caption of my firehouse has informed me that there is a live in program outside of Washington, DC. I would live in the firehouse and answer calls when at the firehouse and attend a local college with a Fire Science program. I was just wondering if anyone else in the country has a program like this. I would appreciate andy information on people to contact and other information about these programs. Thanks.

55 Years & Still Rolling hwoods's Avatar
    Glenn Dale Md, Heart of the P.G. County Fire Belt....

Thumbs up Well...............

I don't know about the rest of the Country, but the D.C. area, and Prince Georges County, in particular, invented the Live in concept. Look at P.G. County, and the University of Maryland if you want the best. www.pgcvfra.org will get you the County's VFD websites. Look around.
    Never use Force! Get a Bigger Hammer.
    In memory of
    Chief Earle W. Woods, 1912 - 1997
    Asst. Chief John R. Woods Sr. 1937 - 2006

IACOJ Budget Analyst

I Refuse to be a Spectator. If I come to the Game, I'm Playing.

www.gdvfd18.com

MembersZone Subscriber

I'm in trouble. A couple of weeks ago, I was talking to the kids in my college class about the options after they get their AS in Fire Science. I was really talking up U of Md. and the live-in program. 2 of my freshmen head down there, fall in love with the place and plan on bailing out of our program and enrolling in the live-in program (I forget where). Inwardly, I am ecstatic for these two guys. Publicly, too bad we're losing them from our program.

If GWCFI was 18 again, I would be a Terp.

Thumbs up Waaaay out here