MembersZone Subscriber

Question "Quints"...your experiences, sop's etc...

I would like to solicit more information on your experiences with Quint's that your dept. utilizes and to what extent they function at first due operation's ie. engine function first, truck ops first, both when possible, sop's that you have put in place for Quint operation's etc. I am simply throwing this out to my fellow bretheren regarding this controversial piece of apparatus that has some good points and many bad points depending on what dept. is using it and how it is included into the dept's resources...Just for info. my dept. runs with two of them instead of dedicated trucks. Some officers lay in with it if there is any indication of a working fire. We don't necessarily charge the line but at least lay the fabric in the street...I've been a ladder operator/firefighter for over 10 years and on a Quint for over 5. Your ideas, experiences (good or/and bad) etc. regarding the "Quint" appratus and not necessarily Quint concept ie. staffing adequately etc....
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Forum Member

Default Philly Quint

We got one about 8-10 years ago, it was a huge waste of money. It became so useless that we hid it in one of the slowest companies in the city. We did do one thing right though, we did staff it officer and 4 in stead of officer and 3 like the rest of our engines. I say, burn the bastards. Quints are not your friend.

MembersZone Subscriber

Default RE: Philly Quint