Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Post Short Volunteer Survey

Hi all! Not entirely sure if this is allowed here and if I'm out of bounds, please disregard/delete.

I'm a college student from Pittsburgh, PA, working on a marketing project geared towards attracting volunteers to area fire companies. If you could take a few minutes and fill out the survey, I would be forever grateful. If you would rather not reply here, please feel free to email your responses to honeyloupe@gmail.com.

When filling out the survey, don't feel obligated to answer every question. More information is better, but it's entirely up to you how much to divulge or not. This is purely a class project, I won't be selling your secrets to anyone.

Thanks!
    Cate Stevens-Davis
    Duquesne U.
    honeyloupe@gmail.com

---

Company you're involved with (town, state):
    Rank, if any:
    Volunteer or paid?:

How large is your fire company? What is the ratio of paid to volunteers?

If volunteer, what were the biggest factors leading you to volunteer?

If paid, would you volunteer if a salary was not an option? Why or why not?

If volunteer, do you have a full-time or part-time job in addition to firefighting? How do you [try to] balance the two?

Does your fire house currently have any method of recruitment that appear to be successful?

Who does your fire house generally try to recruit (high school students, college students, 18-25, etc.)?

Finally, in your opinion, what is the best/most rewarding part of being a firefighter?

Forum Member

Commodore VFD, Commodore PA
    Firefighter
    Volunteer

25 Members All Volunteer

Family is involved, wanted to help community

The only recruitment our department has is by word of mouth or the people who become interested when we do demonstrations