MembersZone Subscriber

Default School Drills

I remember oh so well a fall day in the fourth grade. One of those cold dismall, overcast trying to rain and not snow late fall type of days. It was mid November and the fire alarm started to ring. The teacher glanced out the little window in the door as we got ready to walk-don't run, be quiet-don't talk and file outside. Why were we having a drill on such a lousy day?

It wasn't a drill. The hallway decorations were on fire extending down the hall and up the wall. We exited the room, quick out the door sharp right and down the stairs. The fire was in the cross hallway just across from our room.

The trucks came in a matter of minutes. Quick knockdown and cleanup. Some kid between classes had set off the holiday art work with a lighter. We all went back in and finished the day.

Seventeen years later as a rookie I asked a bunch of the old timers if they remembered a hallway fire at the grade school. Pretty soon the stories about it were flowing pretty good. About ten minutes into it one them said "How'd you know about it?' When I told him fourth grade, Mrs. Swansons he muttered something about time to retire.

The point is we had the required number of drills every year including finding alternate exits. The drills worked for us. We all got out and all ended well.

Yes, you're damn right I beleive in fire drills.

I think EDITH is a pretty smart practice too.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by superchef
    Ok. Maybe I missed something NM. Please tell me what you ARE suggesting.
    If I read his first post correctly his main complaint is that the school just went through the motions making it pointless and possibly counter productive because a real emergency might be assumed to be another drill. NM is that your basic point?