MembersZone Subscriber

Unhappy First oral board crash and burn.

Well I just thought I'd share this, I had my first oral board interview a few weeks ago and I had been preparing for the interview for a month before I had it. I used Captain Bob's book to prepare, I did practice interviews had non-clone answers, used signiture stories, used a tape recorder, practiced in front of a mirrior, and went out and bought a suit. I thought I had everything covered, I went to the interview and the whole ride there I was completely nervous, as soon as I steped inside city hall I calmed down. The dept. gave us the questions 15 minutes before our interview. I looked them over and they wern't any that I studied for. The questions were more like "share an experience with us where you had to deal with ______". I didnt freak out I just went in to the interview and got it over with. I felt I had done very well when the interview was over, I was calm, I didnt stumble my words, I fit in a few of my signature stories, and I even got the panel members to laugh. We had to wait 2 weeks for our results in the mail and as time went by I started to doubt myself, I was thinking I could have said this I shouldnt have said that, but a couple of days before the results came I started getting more confident. Then I got the letter, I was ranked number 35 out of 50, and their hiring 10 people, I looked at my oral board score and I got a 63 (out of 100). How did that happen, now I'm mad because I must have done something wrong but I dont know what it was. I spoke with some other people who were in the process and they didnt score much better then me 33/50, 40/50, and 48/50. I'm starting to think that age might have had somthing to do with our scores, were all 19 and 20 maybe we didnt have the life experience the department was looking for. I'm just really dissapointed, tommorow I'm going to try to call HR and figure out what the criteria was for the interview. The interview was a good learning experie