Forum Member

Default Considering becoming a firefighter. Have questions.

Currently, I am working as a technical consultant in DFW. I have been doing this for almost two years since I graduated from college. I am extremely miserable working in Corporate America. My wife, on the other hand, is a junior high science teacher who absolutely loves teaching because she enjoys making a difference.

Lately, I have been considering a career change. I get little to no fulfillment from what I do. When I think about working in my current field 20 years down the line, I am filled with a sense of dread. I want a job that when I look back on my life and my achievements, I will honestly know that I made a positive difference on other people.

I have been considering becoming a firefighter for the last several months. To meet this goal, I started working out rigorously every weekday before work for an hour. I have also been looking into the training that is required.

I am seriously considering attending the city of DeSoto Fire and EMT Academy. However, I cannot quit my current job and attend fulltime due to financial responsibilities. They do have a weekend Fire program that is every Sat and Sun from May to November, but the EMT training is only Mon – Fri only. Is anyone aware of a weekend EMT program that I can attend?

Does anyone have suggestions that may help me become a firefighter? I honestly am willing to work hard to make it happen, I just need some guidance. Any and all suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

Temporarily/No Longer Active

You won't be allowed to enroll in the fire academy unless you are on a department.

Forum Member

How does someone get the necessary training that cities require then?

Temporarily/No Longer Active

By researching...

Coming to a website asking questions doesn't qualify as "researching".

Forum Member