MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by Apokryphos
    Weeelll, it's time for another Tues. night update, lol. Well I went to meet the chief tonight, b/c tonight was their 5th Tues. of the Month, "Food Night" so I told the chief that I filled out an app. last wk and came to the drill. He found my application, and asked me to step into his office...Well then he proceeded to explain how things work. "You will have some training...we'll go over drills every tues. night, get you CPR certified, and all...we'll get you driving the vehicles, the Pumper, Fire Engines etc. and this and that...You aren't allowed to respond to any calls right now, until they feel that you are compentent enough, and then you'll get a pager, and a key to the station."

*screeeech* Wait, did he just say compentent enough? Grrr...that's when I whip out my CPR/AED and PALS, and Bloodborne Pathogens cards...he said, "Oh okay...well that's good. Any other training? Well I am a Nursing student, I have had a supportive fiance who is a EMT-P,4, CC, BSN, I can read rhythms, start I.V.s, Use a KED, Spineboard, Laryngoscope, E.T., and Combi-tube proficiently and could probably start a chest tube if you needed me too... (Okay, so I got a little cocky...but the whole competent thing, made me a little uneasy...) I also said, I had to leave early to register for my Basic classes, and he was pretty happy about that.

All in all, I'm in so far, they told me I could come up there and hang out anytime I got ready, stay the night, and ride out with them, and the medic said that it'll be about Jan. when I get a key, and a pager but if I had a scanner then I could get their channel.

So I guess I'll suck it up and do what I got to do.

Thanks for listening...~
    Careful.
    You'll scare the chief.
    Probably not use to all those credentials.
    Patience.
    CR
    Visit www.iacoj.com
    Remember Bradley Golden (9/25/01)
    RIP HOF Robert J. Compton(ENG6511)

MembersZone Subscriber